Part Three: I learn to
ride...in traffic - on the Interstate!
For years I wanted to
become a motorcycle rider. I had
finally...finally gotten into a real state motorcycle "Learn to Ride"
course. The instructors were excellent. Not at all snooty. Not "I'm a cool motorcycle dude and your
just a shmuck." I was finally
astride a big rumbling man-machine. Most of the time these state-run courses have
a waiting list months long. They cost
over a hundred bucks and if you back out too late you loose your money. I had signed up twice before. Life and job changes had gotten in the way.
I was so-o-o ready
ready. The third time I had to really
talk myself, and my wife, into laying out the money again. The first opening in the class was two months
away...sigh..."Do you have a cancelation policy? Will you call if somebody cancels?"
"We just had a
cancellation, but it's this weekend. Do
you want it?".
"Yes!" I didn't even look at my work schedule. Five, six years of waiting. Now or never.
The bike I had so
righteously researched and found, was being prepped by the dealer. A lot of excitement, an equal quantity of
anxiety, was running through my head as I waited at the DMV to get a new
driver's license with the little "M" classification stamped on it. As soon as this chore was done I was to pick
up my wife and she was going to deliver me to the dealers. I would then take a cautious Virginia back
country road home.
To scout my new carefully
mapped route, we drove it to the dealer's.
Offramp Warning: I have no sense of direction. I cannot really stress this enough. If I was standing directly on the little flag
that denotes the absolute north pole, I could not find south. This is beyond frustrating for me. My life has been very nomadic. Raised in a military family, we moved every
few years when I was growing up.
Serendipity or fate or God's plan, I have continued this theme to this
day. So often by the time I finally get some landmarks memorized and
a few routes locked down, I'm somewhere new and have to start all over
again. Which means, in short, I spend a lot of time lost.
This trait has developed a
love, nearly a passion, for
maps. Most people have paintings or
posters of kittens or kangaroos playing poker on their walls. In my office, the only room that I am allowed
to decorate, I have maps. Mostly beat-up
maps of the lakes, rivers and ocean coastal places where I have kayaked. Mountain topos of areas I have mountain biked
or road raced. These are real deal maps - water damaged, sweat
stained, folded and unfolded, jammed and removed from map pouches hundreds of
times. When I move from one region of
the country to the next, I take the old maps frame them and put 'em on the
walls of my new office.
These maps had saved my
bacon over and over again. I develop
deep affections for them. Whenever I
have to go anywhere, I get a map and plan my route to the most minute
detail. I mark it with a
high-liter. Then I make a list of the
road names, or other noteworthy locators.
I memorize the list and do my best to put a photo-like image of the
actual geography into my thick skull.
Half the time even this doesn't work and I still get hopelessly lost.
To me the person who
invented the cell phone should receive knighthood. The person who invented GPS
should be made king or queen. The person
who figured out how to put GPS on a cell phone should receive Sainthood. But my first ever-actual motorcycle ride on
real streets and roads, predated all that stuff.
At that time I did have
something almost as good for getting me out of various mazes I frequently found
myself stuck in. I had a wife. I had a wife who was born and raised in
Philadelphia. Which you may, or may not,
know is one of the oldest of the largest American urban sprawls. Philly, Valley Forge, Norristown, Morristown,
plus a half dozen other formerly separate and distinct burgs, have melded into
one giant splat of paved cow paths. Four
lanes for a few blocks shrinking to two lanes.
Back to four lanes. Three way
intersections, four way intersections, five way, veer to the right, now left -
if you don't know where you are going a minimum of eight traffic lights before
you get there, you have two choices.
One, you are lost. Two, you are
going to be in a traffic accident.
And even though she might get lost, somehow
she'd figure it out and get unlost. More on that ability later. My wife however, does not believe in, does
not carry, ever use, I am not sure she even knows how to read - maps!
Where this was a problem,
or became a problem, is that I had my printed detailed route in my hand. I was too anxious and excited to explain this
to my wife...if I had remembered...which I did not. We chatted about this and that, everything
but the actual route. She thought the country road was pretty,
which is true of much of rural Virginia.
Such a pleasant change from Virginia Interstate 64, our usual
route. A little longer maybe, but worth
it.
Nice safe, two lane,
lightly travelled, hardly any traffic.
Perfect for my first real
motorcycle ride.
Virginia Interstate
64. Running mostly east and west across
the entire state, damn near smack in the middle north and south, 64 is heavily travelled. Two lanes each direction, sometimes widely
separated, with woodsiness very tight to the road skirts. In fact not much side skirt at all; i.e. no break-down lanes. If you must pull over and stop, like maybe you feel a heart attack coming
on, do not open the driver's side doors. Some trucker will lop 'em off like a sushi
chef.
The agreement was she would
lead the way home. I was on a motorcycle and could not just lean over and read
a map. Or like most people, put the map
on the steering wheel and glance at it while driving. Not safe but who doesn't do that. I would then be free to concentrate on not
riding my new motorcycle into some hard object.
Neither of us had ever been
in this part of Richmond before, other than the time we had first looked at the
bike...and I had gotten us lost doing that.
As said, narrow one-ways,
stop signs nearly every corner, blind corners.
Cars parallel parked crowding what narrow lanes there were. The one-way street the bike shop was on runs
the wrong way for the direction we needed to go. The garage area where my bike was waiting
opens directly onto the sidewalk The door is maybe three feet from
traffic. Fairly frequent traffic. Two car lengths at any given second to get
out on to the street, make an immediate left and keep from ramming into the
back of a parked car or one stopped at the first stop sign.
It was August in Virginia,
thus ninety-five degrees with ninety-five per cent humidity. I am wearing a full face black helmet, full
length jeans, engineer boots and a heavy Levi jacket. If I was going to crash on my first ride, I
wanted to have some protection. By the time I eeeased, tippy-toe, up to the rushing sound of traffic, I was
sweating so hard my glasses were slipping down my nose and my face plate was
fogging up. The sidewalk was concrete
cast at what seemed like a forty-five degree angle to the rain gutter. From there the road seemed to heave up at
another forty-five degrees. From where I
was straddling the bike it looked like I was going to have to ride into and out
of a castle moat.
My wife pulls out at the
first break in traffic and never looks back.
Three, then four, then five cars whoosh right in behind her before I can
wobble, lurching in first gear, panicked popping of the shift lever, out in
front of a bread truck which slams on the brake to let me in. He was not happy and pulls up within the
width of a child's hand behind me. My
wife stops at the corner stop sign. She
turns right. I have to wait, still lurching in half clutch and half first
gear behind each car as it does whatever it chooses to do at the same stop
sign. A duck trying to ride a huge log,
boots pumping left and right on the baking pavement.
In this part of the city
these are short blocks. By the time I
get to the intersection and rabbit glance to my right to find her, she is
nowhere in sight. My instinct says "go
straight until you see her." My
instinct to never trust my instinct says, "Two one-way rights makes a U and puts us back in the direction we
came." I look to the right at the
next corner and there she is. I'm still
gunning the engine, popping between gears -not on purpose, but because I am
suddenly, very suddenly aware of how much I really don't know whatthafuck I am doing!
In the motorcycle course we
just rode around a huge parking lot in a circle. Then we did a cones course. Then stop 'n go stuff. Then figure eights in each direction. We never
got out of second gear. Down one to
first, grind up the tach till the engine sounds like it's going to explode, put
your toe under the gear lever and pop it up past neutral to second gear. Easy-peasy. Never wound it up high enough to need third,
or fourth, or ...lord-almighty...fifth. This was real life, real traffic. The
cars in front of me pay no attention to what is behind them...could not give a
shit. The cars and trucks behind me just
want me to keep the fuck moving.
Short blocks. Street not much more than alleys. Bomb craters everywhere to dodge. Every time I'd hit a dog sized pot hole or a
huge crack in the road I'd shoot a foot off the seat. The motorcycle course parking lot had been
fairway smooth. Now I was whack-a-moling up and down, lurching
between first and third gears with that embarrassing neck-snap through second,
trying not to stall out and fall over.
Weaving around avoiding as best I could not to drop a wheel in a crater
or smack a continental drift abutment. I
should have had one of those stand-up placards that says "Learner" on
it. You know, the ones on Drivers Ed cars.
The throttle on all
motorcycles, in a recent agreement between manufacturers, is on the right
handle grip. The right peddle is the
rear brake. Your right hand grip lever controls the front brake (the
right hand generally being the strongest) and can stop a motorcycle in a matter
of feet if it's jammed down too hard, sending the rider head over ass over the
handlebars or down on the side in a micro-nano second. The gear shift is the left peddle and the
clutch is the left hand grip lever. In the sedate motorcycle course parking lot,
everybody in a line, the instructor yelling instructions and encouragement, all
this seems like "Hey...this ain't no
big deal.".
Compare this to the modern
car. Point it with the steering
wheel. Want to go fast, push down with
the right foot. Want to slow down, angle
the right foot over just a tad to the left and push down again. A chimpanzee could drive a modern car... go
to a circus, they have chimpanzees driving little clown cars.
After many, many years of
car experience we must now retrain the driver in us to do a half dozen new
actions. With both hands and both
feet. In a precise sequence at very
precise pressures in hummingbird movements while balancing a six to eight hundred pound machine. In this instance things tend to take on a
new, totally new, sense of fun.
All of the above came down
to a very abrupt epiphany. Books,
training, practice, theory - empirical experience cannot be substituted by, or
with, anything else. I was in a "God,
please look down upon your child and save my ass!" situation. If you don't happen to believe in God, I
don't know what advice to give. Don't
really care, but I would put even money on the fact, you'd be praying to
something. I am not a church going man,
but I was praying like an unarmed man at the OK Corral.
My wife not being a map person and being a person whose
toast always lands butter-side up is up in front. She is just enough ahead that I can still see
her in traffic. Just barely. Weaving, lurching, gear popping, riding the
rear brake, wobbling I stay within four to five cars as Richmond falls behind
and we make it to the strip-malls that seem to be on the periphery of every
American city. My heart rate is
beginning to level off. Traffic, stop
signs and lights have kept out speed down.
I haven't dropped the bike or run into anything. "It's
all good."
So far I haven't had the
courage to take my eyes from the immediate road in front of me. I have been darting panicked glances at my
rearview mirrors. When I do manage a
look at the one dial on this bike, something registers about the the trip
odometer.
This a very basic basic
bike. It does not have a fuel
gauge! I did not notice this
before! I naturally assumed all gasoline
powered machines had fuel gauges.
However, thinking back I could not recall any of my old lawn mowers
having fuel gauges. You knew the tank
was empty when the machine stopped.
That's just peachy when you're in your own yard on soft grass! On asphalt in heavy traffic, this would not
be peachy! It would not be a good thing, it would be a fucking bad thing!
The dealer said the bike
got about...sixty miles to the gallon. It was a 2.3 gallon tank. Quick math, not my best subject. That would be about a hundred miles before
the reserve valve would need to be switched on - where's the fucking reserve
valve? So-o-o many questions I
should have asked. So-o-o many questions
I was apparently either too assuming, or naive, to ask. Or just too stupid to even think of asking.
The trip odometer says
twenty (something) miles, but did the dealer top off the tank? I don't know.
No, I hadn't asked. When you
have been married, living in connubial bliss, comparatively, with another
person for over thirty years (at that time) you do develop some psychic connections. Some. My wife pulls over into a gas station.
"Do you know how much
gas you've got?", she asks.
"Uh...." I
respond, really struggling not to appear too shaken.
"I think you'd better
check it. Maybe top off the tank. What kind of milage does the bike get?"
"Uh..." I respond
with puffed up equanimity, still trying to work the math out in my mushy brain.
Which is when I discovered
I also did not know how to take the gas cap off this bike. Pushing a little thingy on top of the gas cap
over to one side revealed a keyhole.
Attempting to appear experienced, and to be an old hand at this, I took the ignition key, the bike only came with
one key (very lucky for me at the time), I inserted it and twist. Plunk! The cap comes off.
Hey! Everybody look at me, Easy Rider!
I put the gas pump nozzle in the tank and squeeze the lever. About one tablespoon of gas goes in and thunk...pump stops. Squeeze again...thunk. Must be full. I look in.
Obviously not full. Squeeze...thunk.
This is a very small tank compared to a car. It must be the pump's automatic pressure shut
off. So I pull the nozzle out to just
above the tank opening, where the pressure valve won't kick in. The tank fills in about ten seconds and I
proceed to pump about half a gallon of premium gas all over the tank and down
on to the super-hot engine and muffler.
Hey! Everybody look at
me! An old boob who doesn't know what the fuck he's doing. But I get it filled. With a lot of fumbling and luck, I get the
cap back on the tank. At which point my
wife, who fortunately for my sense of dignity, missed the whole debacle, has
gotten her cup of coffee and is impatient to leave.
She gets in the mini-van
and zooms off. I manage to get in right
behind her. Now we are approaching the
intersection where the back-country road we had come in on passed under
IS-64. From this direction that overpass
was not visible until after the 64 on-ramp. !!!
I'm totally transfixed on the rear of our minivan. My mind says this doesn't seem right? Didn't we come straight on through under the
overpass? She must know what she
doing. Where she's going?! We went over this. Don't go
on 64. I'm not ready to try and ride
this thing on an Interstate yet. Especially
"not" on Interstate 64!
I barely got out of fucking
Richmond alive! Now I'm gonna be on the worst road in southern Virginia!
"Oh Lord, look down carefully on this sinner and don't let
me get fucking killed on this road. I
haven't even made the first goddamned payment on this fucking machine
yet!"
In the back of my mind I
hear him say, "I'll do what I can, but you really are a fucking idiot."
I've never had any trouble
with the police in over fifty years of driving.
One speeding ticket back in the Nixon era and the cop was pretty nice
about it. In general I have a lot of
respect for the men and women of the law.
Always been respectful to me. And
here in Virginia the Highway Patrol is everywhere. By and large they keep Va's roads quite
safe. But even the Va HP stays off
IS-64. The posted speed limit of
sixty-five is held to be a myth...a mere polite suggestion to be righteously
ignored
Being as how 64 is the only
major highway from the large coastal cities and the state capital, the traffic
is heavy, fast and Big! Back to front semi's with impatient commuters
darting in between and experienced motorcyclists darting in between all of
them. Then all of a sudden on this
sweltering summer day there was me.
Slightly over twenty miles of real motorcycle driving under my belt and
not a very good job of that. To say I
did not belong there would be like dropping a mouse in the middle of an NBA
play-off game.
In my entire motorcycle
experience I had not gotten over thirty miles an hour yet. Now I was being forced by a truck, which was
boxed in behind me by a truck to his left, to do over seventy! And the truck was closing in under the
obvious misunderstanding that I actually knew what I was doing. My right foot was naturally pressing harder
and harder on the rear brake in order to make the bike go faster - not
remembering at that moment that it was, in fact, the brake! For fifty years
the right foot made things go faster.
Now every time I dug down with my right foot the bike lurched what felt
like was backwards!
Having spent two years
commuting on a scooter, my right hand was frantically twisting the hell out of
the throttle too. This combination was
not working! My wife was disappearing
ahead, just keeping with the flow. I had somehow, with the God, that I rarely
ever credited, clasped with iron claws to my shoulder, made the 360 degree
on-ramp and fed into the right
lane. That was an experience that my
memory has pretty much blacked out like scenes from a Saw movie.
I was on the giant
"Death of Hercules" roller-coaster ride from hell, but this one
wasn't going to be over in forty-five seconds.
It was going to go on and on until I got off the fucking freeway! I had driven this stretch of 64 hundreds of
times when I coached soccer. I had
particularly planned to avoid it
today, but here I incontrovertibly was.
I had driven soccer teams in mini-buses at all
times of morning, day and night on this section and knew every turn and
tree. The familiarity of it began to
calm my brain down bit by bit. I finally
realized that my right foot did not belong pushing down on anything at this
point. Focusing on the throttle to speed
up and releasing it slightly to slow down seemed to be a better plan.
I didn't have more than a
few miles until the exit I had used all those soccer trips was coming up. I knew the rest of the route home by
heart. "Just stay in the
middle." I kept reminding
myself. No idea where my wife was at
this point. She was a good driver, I
wasn't worried about her.
Down shifting, this time feathering the clutch, on the off
ramp. Also this time feathering the rear brake, I was still alive!
I was on a sedate country road.
About twenty five miles from home.
Just me on my new motorcycle.
Cruisin' What a rush!
When I did get home, un-wrecked
and non-killed, my wife was there.
"How'd it go? Sorry I made that turn onto 64. Did you say you didn't want to go on 64? I never saw you behind me, so I figured you took
that other road."
"Uh....." I
replied. Which was when I forgot to put
the kickstand down and dropped the bike for the first time.
++++
Please subscribe if you find this Blog of value to you and visit me at
http://dalepeterson.us
No comments:
Post a Comment
I thank you for your comment(s) and will review it (them) and post those that are positive in reference to the material posted. Open minded comments of a responsible nature, regardless of opinion are encouraged. Any profanity, or otherwise negative, comments will NOT be approved.
Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.